I’m all set for the big freeze

Ice BucketI knew when I moved to Birmingham earlier this year that life was going to be interesting and I fully expected the job to throw up plenty of new challenges and experiences.

What I didn’t envisage were calls for a bucket of ice cold water to be poured over my head (IN PUBLIC) This was not in the job description.

But of course I hadn’t reckoned on the global phenomenon that is the ice bucket challenge.

I’m not sure whether to be flattered or offended at the number of nominations I’ve received for the challenge but never let it be said that I don’t listen to the public!

So on Friday (Sept 5) at 11.30am I’ll be in Victoria Square for a very public drenching – in aid of some very good causes.

As I’m sure most of you are already aware, the ice bucket challenge was launched to raise money and awareness for the Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) Association and its British equivalent, the Motor Neurone Disease Association (MND). A large number of other brilliant causes have also benefited.

I will raise funds for MND but would also like to boost the coffers of the Lord Mayor’s charities:

So if you want to see me get a soaking for these fantastic charities, you’ll find me in front of the Council House on Friday morning.

Just in case you’re not sure what I look like, I’ll be the dripping, shivering one.

Lord Mayor’s Charity Appeal

If you wish to make a donation to the Lord Mayor’s Charity Appeal please make cheques payable to:- ‘Lord Mayor’s Charity Appeal 2014/15’ and post to: Lord Mayor’s Office, Council House, Victoria Square, Birmingham B1 1BB.

Alternatively you can make a donation online at: http://www.justgiving.com/lordmayorbirmingham

Posted on September 3, 2014, in Blog. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I hope you’ll also be posting a few nominations for others to do the same!

  2. Good luck with the ice bucket on Friday Mark.

    I shall be following your example on Monday when the Leader of Sandwell Council and I will be doing the ice bucket challenge as well.

    Some of my so-called colleagues have arranged to replace the normal bucket with a JCB – so we are in for a thorough soaking – in aid of a good cause, of course.

  1. Pingback: I’m all set for the big freeze #Birmingham | keithbracey

Leave a Reply

